Livid OHM RGB MIDI Controller Fandom and Repair Thread

Hi all,

After a recent twitter exchange (@dantombs Original Tweet ) with a few people this came up in discussion would be useful for people to share information on this much loved and missed MIDI controller

Livid Product Page

I have been using one since 2013 and its been the main stay in all my projects and set ups

I have since bought a ‘slim’ model as a back up and keep an eye on eBay to see if any pop up, but they seem scarce

Sadly a few faders have started to break on my main model and I did some research with a friend of mine to source replacement faders

These are the ones that we found that work great, Faders on eBay my buddy has been great at soldering them in place. In case the eBay link goes down, this is the full spec here:

Potentiometer slide 100k? 200mW THT ±20% linear Mat metal
Manufacturer ALPS
Potentiometer type slide
Resistance 100k?
Power 200mW
Mounting THT
Tolerance ±20%
Characteristics linear
Body material metal
Body dimensions 75 x 9 x 7mm
Potentiometer features stereo
Shaft dimensions 4 x 1.2 x 15mm
Max. operating voltage 150V AC 10V DC
Track length 60mm
Additional information
Gross weight 7.7 g

They seem a bit faster than the factory ones, so maybe thats attractive for some too. I have also added small amounts of hot glue to the solder points of the new faders, they seem a little prone to straining away from the PCB so thought the hot glue would be a good insurance policy to cope with any excessive fader wang-ing

Be great to share any tips or tricks with this controller

One thing I am planning to investigate is that have discovered by taking the slim model apart, it does actually have the MIDI ports on the board, but obscured by the metal case, I need to test if these are actually functional, but if they are I may well drill the case out so these could be usable if ever necessary

Cheers
Dan

4 Likes