Laptop/Setup Suggestions

Hello!

I’m a musician and interested in incorporating some visuals into my performance. I use a 2012 MacBook Pro for all my sound needs (I run three pieces of software for the audio side of things, SuperCollider, Mainstage and looping software I made) I’d love to run VDMX as well but am concerned about the load on my computer. It makes sense to run VDMX from another laptop right? Or should I give it a go and see what happens? My graphics card is nothing special (intel HD graphics 384MB)

My question is what specs should I be looking for in another computer? I know bigger is better but my wallet doesn’t agree! I’m also a little fuzzy on how to get the two computers to talk with each other sending audio and midi data. Is there hardware I need to look at? Or software solutions?

Thanks for any advice/suggestions!

Greg

Hi Greg, I’ll try to help, maybe someone else can as well. As for two computers (Mac-Only) there are a number of ways to send osc data from computer to computer. Apps like Osculator will convert midi to just about anything you can image. You can also setup a custom port for VDMX to send or receive OSC data. I’d recommend a 2015 MacBook Pro or higher if you can get your hands on one. The newer MBP’s support external GPU’s in case you need more power. I used to run VDMX off of a 2012 MacBook Pro for years, but it had a GeForce 650M? chip inside of it. Additionally, if you’re internal Mac HD is an SSD and you replace the internal CD drive with a caddy and SSD, it should have better performance for video playback.

May be worth a try to download an older version of VDMX and give it a go. (Just don’t use .mp4 videos)

David would know best, but I figured I’d chime in. I know plenty of people still using their 2012 MBP’s for visuals, programming, music production, and even live coding (although, not all at the same time).

2 Likes