ISF Speed / Time

Hi - I’m just getting started with shaders, mostly playing with other peoples code. Coming from quartz composer there is something i would like to emulate and is bugging me with many shaders.

So QC and GLSL share the concept of animation being driven by a flaot called TIME. In quartz I would generate time using integrator patch. Giving this patch a variable between -1 and 1 would allow me to control the rate of animation, as this variable sets the rate time accumulates at. Mostly importantly changing this rate gave smooth changes in speed.

Most ISFs i have loaded into VDMX seam to control rate by multiplying TIME by a rate factor - the problem with this is that changes in rate cause jumps in time and jerky playback whenever the rate is changed.

So what im after is a smooth way to change the rate of time in ISF ?

Hope this makes sense - im not fluent in shader speak.

cheers_ Howie

1 Like

Update - I have just been looking at the madmapper material format - which appears to be ISF+
They have included a function to solve this issue. Its declared like an ISF input but its called a “generator”.Its used in most of their shaders.
Looks like this…
“GENERATORS”: [
{
“NAME”: “animation_time”,
“TYPE”: “time_base”,
“PARAMS”: {“speed”: “speed”, “bpm_sync”: “bpmsync”, “speed_curve”: 2, “reverse”: “reverse”, “link_speed_to_global_bpm”:true}
}

Hey Howie,

Yup, we’ve been in touch it the Mad Mapper crew, and we might do something along these lines officially as part of the next version of the ISF specification, but we probably won’t support their extension in the short term.

A common trick we use is to have a render pass that stores a 1x1 pixel for storing local variables like accumulators. A good example of this is in the HorizVertHold.fs filter, which essentially does this with ‘rate’ sliders for both x & y,
https://www.interactiveshaderformat.com/sketches/203