Existing audio/video

Greetings, I am completely new to VDMX and was wondering if it is suitable for use with existing audio and visuals. For example, say I have a track that I already have recorded, and may or may not have some existing video that goes with it, is VDMX good software for enhancing/manipulating this existing content, or is it more built for live input? Can it beat sync existing audio files without any issues? Lastly, do I have to be a programmer or exceedingly savvy to get good use out of this software?

Thank you for your insight.

Hi @jotocokado,

(I’m biased), but I would say VDMX is great for remixing existing videos. Just look at some of the artists who use it on the regular: https://ellingson.tv/

Beat sync is another thing. There are a number of ways to customize VDMX the way you prefer, but figuring what you like will take some time getting familiar with the software. That’s why we recommend downloading it and running it right away. The demo is fully functional except for the ability to save projects (you’ll understand why after you dive deeper into it).

It’s also designed to take the programming out of performing. You can get more advanced down the road, but you don’t have to code to use VDMX.

1 Like

I use another similar “VJ” soft.
Suitable for post-processing?
Well, yes and no.
Yes, because you can quickly get effective and meaningful results in real time.
However, compared to video editing software, A) neither very precise nor in real 4K quality B).