Building Web UI's for OSC

I’ve just about put together one of my first decent projects since investing in VDMX, been working hard with deforum to create custom animations and added some interactive masks using processing. My next task is to build out a custom web interface so I can allow people on the local network to control it. I have the built in web interface working fine but it also exposes other controls I don’t people to have.
Is it possible to disable/remove control surfaces from the default web interface or should I just build a custom web UI. I have never used OSC before and this is my first project, however I am decent with html/JS so could potentially build something, Just need 2 sliders and a button really.
Does anyone have any good resources for creating custom OSC interfaces?

1 Like

Are you referring to the OSCQuery web interface?

A few thoughts here. What device do you want people to change these parameters on? (and ipad, iphone, android, etc?)

You could use TouchOSC to make a custom interface that only controls specific OSC parameters.

To the best of my knowledge, the OSCQuery Browser, makes a Web UI based on all the OSC ports that are open. OSCQuery itself is meant to be a faster way to setup and interface with various aspects of VDMX without individually right clicking on every single button or slider, so in it’s default form, it should populate the web interface with all that it can.

You could make some sort of website or page that only triggers what you want (and use OSCQuery in the backend)!?

But I would look into TouchOSC, Lemur OSC, Osculator (if you want to port values around or use various HID controllers), Chataigne, etc.

Hope this helps.

2 Likes

Yes this helps, I’m thinking a web interface, mobile mostly.
Lets say I have a local web server running and a wifi hotspot ppl can join with a QR code.
Once they join they can access the url/webpage and there they have an interface.