Ableton Live Music Set with VJing

Hi everybody,

I am very new to the VDMX and VJing.
Working on my live set for an electro rap gig, I would like to have a nice visual background with Vdmx.
I am learning actually all the plugins and the FX possibilities, used to after effects since a long time, I find the soft quiet intuitive and very fun to work with.
My problem is most in the way I should organise my project for a live show.
I will have my set in an Ableton session linked to VDMX, but my ideal goal would be to have a different video sequence and effects for each tracks, in connexion with the univers of the song.
I will be alone on stage, most of the music will be sequences, but I’ll also have some rap and singing parts, so I could quickly lost my control If I have to do all the visual FX in live.
What is for you, the best way I could set a rich video background, with a lot of different sources (movies, animations, drawings, titles…) without having to play in live all the FX, but having a mix between live VJING and already prepared video edits?
many thanks to all for an answer
cheers

Hi Carlos,

Maybe someone who knows Ableton could answer this better, but VDMX is pretty versatile for show building. You could have ableton trigger clips in your media bin via Midi or OSC. You could make multiple FX presets for each track and/or pair everything to a midi controller and remix it live anytime. Some other things to check out are the Cue List, LFO, Step Sequencer, Data Looper (under Window> Workspace Manager (command+1)> Plugins> hit the + button and add it.

A good midi controller will go a long way.

1 Like

HI ProjectileObjects
many thanks for your quick answer,
My ableton live projet will not have midi files in it but just audio sequences , so I imagine it will not be possible ton connect it with VDMX in Midi and OSC isn’t it?